Saint-Louis du Sénégal


Version française


Identity Card


– Name : Saint-Louis. Name given by the French in honnor of their king at the time (Louis XIV). Ndar in wolof.
– Population : 180 000 inhabitants (last estimations in 1994).
– The island of Saint-Louis size: 2,4 km long and about 250 to 350 metres large.
– Fonded in 1659 by Louis Caullier. The oldest city to be created by Europeans on the western coast of Africa. Capital of the Afrique Occidentale Française from 1895 to 1902 which is Senegal (Mauritania), Sudan, Guinee and Côte d'Ivoire. Capital of Senegal from 1872 to 1957. Capital of Mauritania from 1920 to1960.
In our days, Saint-Louis is the "Capital of the North", "intellectual capital of Sénégal", "capital of good taste".
The island is classified in the patrimony of humanity by UNESCO.
– Economy : The fall of groundnut prices and the advance of desertification are the main problems of the region. Fishing is the first exportation of Senegal, but many other well equiped countries are currently exploiting this zone. As well, there exists no time restrictions (as in Mauritania) for fishing. Predictable result: overexploitationof this resource with a gradual depletion offish stocks.
Tourism is developping and has become the economic hope for the city and the region of Saint Louis.



– Name : Senegal (sunu gal, our boat in wolof)
– Population : 9 000 000 inhabitants.
– Area : 196 200 km2.
– Capital : Dakar.
– Official language: french.
– Other languages : wolof (oulof) spoken by 80% of the population, as well as peul, sérère, dioula...
– Currency : franc CFA [1 FF = 100 CFA] ; [1€ = 660 CFA] ; [100 CFA = 0,155 € ]
– Minimum Wage: roughly 40 000 CFA (400 FF, or 60 €).
– Political Regime: presidential.





© Sencyb | Saint-Louis du Sénégal